Francona, Hurdle named managers of the year

    11:52 PM, Nov 12, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    (SportsNetwork.com) - Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians and Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates have been named managers of the year after leading their teams back to the postseason after long absences.

    Francona, in his first season with the Indians, was named American League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers' Association of America after leading the team to its first postseason berth in six years.

    In a close vote, Francona beat John Farrell of the Boston Red Sox with 16 first-place votes and 112 points. Farrell had 12 first-place votes and 96 points and fellow finalist Bob Melvin of the Oakland Athletics, the 2012 winner, received two first-place votes and 36 points.

    Hurdle was named the National League's top manager in his third season with Pittsburgh after leading a 15-win improvement that landed the team its first winning record and postseason appearance since 1992.

    Both managers were live on MLB Network when the announcements were made by BBWAA secretary/treasurer Jack O'Connell.

    "It gives me a chance to brag about our organization," said Francona. "When you get an award like this it's a representation of the organization. I'll gladly accept it but it's for all these people."

    The Pirates went 94-68, finished second in the NL Central behind the St. Louis Cardinals and beat the Cincinnati Reds in the wild-card game. They lost to the Cardinals in the NLDS.

    Hurdle, 56, topped Don Mattingly of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Fredi Gonzalez of the Atlanta Braves for the award. Though he managed the most successful Pirates team in more than two decades, Hurdle said no one person can change the culture of a team

    "I do, every day when my feet hit the ground, say I'm going to model the proper behavior that I want my guys to have," he said on MLB Network.

    He received 25 first-place votes and 140 points overall to top Mattingly, who garnered two first-place votes and 68 points. Gonzalez had three first-place votes but only four second-place votes to Mattingly's 17. Gonzalez finished with 43 points.

    Hurdle is the second Pittsburgh manager to win the award after Jim Leyland, who was honored in 1990 and '92.

    The Sports Network

    Most Watched Videos