Governor declares disaster in 22 Arkansas counties

    9:22 AM, Dec 14, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe has declared a disaster in 22 counties after last week's wintry weather. 

    The governor on Friday issued a disaster declaration for Baxter, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren counties. 

    The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management is on the ground with the Federal Emergency Management Agency in about a dozen of the affected counties to determine whether Arkansas will qualify for federal assistance. 

    If the state qualifies, it will be for public-assistance funds to help counties recover and repair damaged infrastructure.

    (Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


    Most Watched Videos