State receives disaster declaration

    4:21 PM, Jan 29, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KTHV) - Seven Arkansas counties have been declared a federal disaster following the severe winter storm that occurred December 25-26.

    According to deputy public information officer Brandon Morris, the counties included in the declaration are Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Lonoke, Perry, Pulaski, and Saline.

    The White House released a statement saying, "Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged."

    Morris said the declaration is for Public Assistance which includes assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities in those counties.

    Also included is the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, said Morris; all counties in the state are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

    For more information, visit www.adem.arkansas.gov.

    Most Watched Videos