Davis Love III honored with Bob Jones Award

    4:27 AM, Feb 3, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    San Diego, CA (Sports Network) - Davis Love III, last year's U.S. Ryder Cup captain, was awarded the 2013 Bob Jones Award, given by the United States Golf Association.

    Love won 20 PGA Tour titles, including the 1997 PGA Championship as well as the 1992 and 2003 Players Championships.

    The USGA has presented the Bob Jones award annually since 1955. The association's highest honor "is given in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf. The Award seeks to recognize a person who emulates Jones' spirit, his personal qualities and his attitude toward the game and its players."

    Love represent the U.S. six times at the Ryder Cup as a player and six times as the Presidents Cup. He also helped lead the 1985 U.S. Walker Cup team to victory.

    The 48-year-old started the Davis Love Foundation in 2005. The foundation assists national and community-based programs that work to build a better future for at-risk children.

    "I am very grateful to be selected by the USGA to receive their highest honor, the Bob Jones Award," stated Love III. "Just to be mentioned in the same company as the previous recipients is a nice compliment, but to have my name permanently etched alongside them on an award named after Bob Jones is a tremendous feeling."

    Love was honored with the award at the USGA's Annual Meeting in San Diego, but he was unable to attend due to his playing schedule.

    The Sports Network

    Most Watched Videos