AHTD awarded funding for 'Safe Routes to School' program

    11:07 PM, Jun 19, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +
    (Photo: Thinkstock)
    Applicant Type of Proposal Funding Awarded
    City of Wynne Infrastructure $124,000
    Monticello School District Infrastructure $70,000
    City of Pine Bluff Infrastructure $171,120
    City of Texarkana Infrastructure $60,000
    City of Mena Infrastructure $60,000
    Westwood Elementary (Springdale) Infrastructure $135,896
    Elmdale Elementary School (Springdale) Infrastructure $80,000
    City of Fayetteville Infrastructure $81,248
    Prairie Grove School District Planning $3,000
    Batesvile School Dist. No. 1 Infrastructure $44,000
    City of Ward Infrastructure $33,000
    City of Cabot Infrastructure $98,000
    City of Cabot Education $4,144
    City of Jacksonville Infrastructure $117,738
    City of Jacksonville Education $6,000
    City of North Little Rock Infrastructure $63,210
    City of North Little Rock Education $44,208
    University District Development Corporation and the City of Little Rock Infrastructure $100,000
    City of Sherwood Infrastructure $80,000
    City of Shannon Hills Infrastructure $100,000
    City of Haskell Infrastructure $58,000
    City of Vilonia Infrastructure $70,000
    City of Decatur Planning $3,000
    City of Harrison Infrastructure $100,000
    Northwest Arkansas Resource Conservation and Development Education $27,810
    Berryville School Dist. Infrastructure $43,500
    Yellville-Summit Elementary School Non-Infrastructure $3,150
    City of Piggott Infrastructure $67,988
    City of Corning Infrastructure $80,000
    City of Brookland Infrastructure $67,988
    Lake City Planning $3,000

    LITTLE ROCK (AHTD) - The Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) has announced the award of funding to applicants for "Safe Routes to School" Program projects in Arkansas, according to AHTD Director Scott Bennett. The program is a 100 percent Federally-funded initiative of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU).

    "This program is specifically directed toward enabling and encouraging students in Kindergarten through 8th grade to walk or bicycle to school," said Bennett. "We were overwhelmed with 52 applications seeking over $7.6 million during the fifth application period for this program. The Highway Commission was able to award approximately $2.0 million in funds toward 31 very deserving projects."

    Areas within two miles of a K-8th grade school are eligible for funds to be disbursed in two categories - infrastructure improvements and non-infrastructure. Improvement projects can include the planning, design and construction of sidewalks, crossings, and bicycle facilities as well as traffic diversion and speed reduction improvements. Non-infrastructure programs can include public awareness campaigns, traffic education, walking school buses, bike trains, enforcement and outreach activities.

    The AHTD will now work with the successful applicants to develop their proposals into completed projects. Projects selected for funding are listed on the next page.

    (SOURCE: Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department)

    Most Watched Videos