Athletic Directors join AHSCA and AOA to form one hall of fame class for 2013

    1:40 PM, Apr 17, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AHSCA) -- The Arkansas High School Athletic Administrators Association will join the combined efforts of the Arkansas High School Coaches Association and the Arkansas Officials Association to form one High School Hall of Fame. The three organizations have selected 15 honorees to be installed in the 2013 AHSCA-AOA-AHSAAA Hall of Fame.

    The AHSCA-AOA Hall of Fame was created in 1995 and had selected 213 members into its hall. The AHSAAA started in 2007 and had 19 members. With this year's class the new Hall of Fame membership now stands at 247.

    The Hall of Fame selections were made by the group's executive committees in December (AOA) and January (AHSCA, AHSAAA).

    The six new AHSCA honorees are Gus Malzahn, Springdale (football); Glenda Patterson, Jonesboro Westside (volleyball); Ron Ripp, Ozark (basketball); Gene Simmons, Murfreesboro (track); Charlie Sorrels, Atkins (football) and Herbert Williams, Brinkley (basketball).

    The six new members of the AOA are Bill Breazeale, Fayetteville (football); Clint Cornett, Prairie Grove (football); Duane Cousins, Benton (football); August Hensick, Stuttgart (football); Gordon Hornaday, Fordyce (basketball) and Ellis "Scooter" Register, Little Rock (basketball).

    The three new members of the AHSAAA are Atwood "Buddy" Bell of Jonesboro, Conrad "Buzz" Bolding of Conway and Richard "Dick" Hays of Ashdown.

    Tim Cooper of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette will receive the Arkansas Activities Association's 2013 Distinguished Media Service Award.

    The installation banquet will be held on Friday, July 12, 2013, at Horner Hall in the Hot Spring Convention Center starting at 6:30 p.m. For ticket information contact Nicole Cunningham at 501-955-2500.

    Most Watched Videos