A-State's Carrethers Adds Outland Trophy Watch List to Preseason Accolades

    3:44 PM, Jul 11, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    JONESBORO, Ark. (7/11/13) - The 2013 preseason football accolades continue to accumulate for Arkansas State senior defensive lineman Ryan Carrethers (Nashville, Tenn.), who was named to the Outland Trophy Watch List on Thursday.  Announced by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), the Outland Trophy is annually awarded to the best interior lineman in college football. ?Carrethers is the third Arkansas State player to ever be named to the watch list for the Outland Trophy. Former offensive linemen Matt Mandich and Garry Johnson represented A-State on the preseason list in 2008 and 2002, respectively.

    Carrethers has also been named to the 2013 Bednarik Award Watch List for the nation's top defensive player of the year and earned a spot on CBSSports.com's "Freaks List," which recognizes some of the top college players in the nation for their ability to amaze their teammates and and coaches in various athletic aspects.

    Carrethers started every game as junior in 2012, finishing the season with a career-best 68 tackles that were the sixth most on the team and the most by an A-State interior defensive lineman since Jon Bradley recorded 68 as well in 2002. He averaged 5.2 tackles per game to rank tied for 39th in the Sun Belt, but ahead of all other interior defensive linemen in the league.

    The 2012 First Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection tallied a career-high 10 tackles against both Memphis and South Alabama. He also had eight tackles, his third most of the season, against Florida International. ?He posted at least one stop in all but one game and recorded four or more in 11 outings. Additionally, Carrethers was responsible for 3.5 tackles for loss and a half-sack in two different games.

    The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA.

    The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced by ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 12 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

    Jerry Scott: Asst. AD / Sports Information Dir.

    Most Watched Videos