Southland Conference announces players of the week

    9:39 AM, Sep 2, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    FRISCO, Texas (SOUTHLAND) - McNeese State junior tight end Nic Jacobs was named the Southland Conference Offensive Player of the Week, the league office announced Monday. His senior teammate, cornerback Guy Morgan was named the defensive player of the week while Central Arkansas freshman receiver/kick return specialist Jatavious Wilson was named the special teams player of the week.

    Offensive Player of the Week: Nic Jacobs, McNeese State

    Jacobs helped lead McNeese to a 53-21 upset victory over South Florida, a member of the FBS American Athletic Conference. The junior from Many, La. (Many H.S.) and transfer from LSU set the school single-game record by a tight end with five catches and two touchdowns. He had touchdown grabs of 22 and 78 yards and totaled 122 yards to lead all receivers in the game.

    Honorable Mention: Bryan Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana; Caleb Berry, Lamar; Wyrnick Smother, Central Arkansas; Zach Adkins, Northwestern State.

    Defensive Player of the Week: Guy Morgan, McNeese State

    Against USF, Morgan returned an interception 76 yards for a touchdown near the end of the first half that gave McNeese a 33-7 lead. The senior from Baton Rouge, La. (St. John H.S.), also broke up a pass earlier in the second quarter that was nearly intercepted and led all Cowboys with seven tackles including a half tackle for loss.

    Honorable Mention: Tristan Eche, Sam Houston State; Adam Jones, Northwestern State; Jesse Dickson, Lamar; Drew Misita, Southeastern La.

    Special Teams Player of the Week: Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas

    Wilson, a true freshman from Bastrop, La. (Bastrop H.S.), returned a kickoff 93 yards for a touchdown in UCA's 58-7 victory over UIW last Thursday. He added two punt returns for 16 yards to go along with four catches for 105 receiving yards and a pair of touchdowns. He finished the game with 215 all-purpose yards in his collegiate debut.

    Honorable Mention: Xavier Roberson, Southeastern La.; Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State; Justin Stout, Lamar; Nick Bruno, Stephen F. Austin.

    Each school's sports information director nominates and votes for the players of the week, though is not permitted to vote for his own player. To receive honorable mention, a player must receive votes from 25 percent of the Southland sports information directors.

    Most Watched Videos