Former Payton winners on College Hall of Fame ballot

    10:40 AM, Mar 6, 2014   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    Irving, TX (SportsNetwork.com) - Former Walter Payton Award winners Michael Payton of Marshall and Archie Amerson of Northern Arizona are part of the 2014 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Thursday.

    The ballot includes 75 players and six coaches from the FBS level and 87 players and 26 coaches from the divisional ranks, which includes the FCS. There are 38 former FCS players on the list.

    The ballot was sent to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's 17-member Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class.

    "It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.99 million people have played college football," NFF president and CEO Steven J. Hatchell said. "The Hall's requirement of being a First-Team All- American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names."

    Payton, a quarterback, won the 1992 Payton Award, while Amerson, a running back, was voted as the outstanding player in the FCS (formerly Division I-AA football) in 1996.

    The 2014 Hall of Fame class will be announced in May and its members will be inducted at the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 9 in New York. The inductees will be enshrined in the new College Football Hall of Fame at a date to be determined next year. The new Hall, currently under construction, is scheduled to open in Atlanta before the 2014 college football season.

    Former FCS players on the ballot:

    Archie Amerson, RB, Northern Arizona

    Rennie Benn, WR, Lehigh

    Carl Boyd, RB, Northern Iowa

    Joe Campbell, RB, Middle Tennessee State

    Bruce Collie, OT, Texas-Arlington

    Case deBruijn, P, Idaho State-Punter

    John Dorsey, LB, Connecticut

    Tom Ehrhardt, QB, Rhode Island

    Curtis Eller, LB, Villanova

    Richard Erenberg, RB, Colgate

    Don Griffin, S, Middle Tennessee State

    Don Hass, HB, Montana State

    Conway Hayman, OG, Delaware

    John Hill, C, Lehigh

    John Huard, LB, Maine

    Rene Ingoglia, RB, Massachusetts

    Garry Kuhlman, OT, Delaware

    Steve McAdoo, OL, Middle Tennessee State

    Bill McGovern, DB, Holy Cross-Defensive Back

    Robert Morris, DE, Georgetown

    John Ogles, FB, Austin Peay State

    Chris Parker, RB, Marshall

    Michael Payton, QB, Marshall

    Martin Peterson, OT, Penn

    Charlie Pierce, P/PK, Central Florida

    Michael Renna, DE, Delaware

    Kirk Roach, PK, Western Carolina

    Terry Schmidt, DB, Ball State

    Larry Schreiber, RB, Tennessee Tech

    Steve Schubert, WR, Massachusetts

    Joe Skladany, LB, Lafayette

    Leonard Smith, CB, McNeese State

    Tom Stenglein, WR, Colgate

    Freddie Thomas, DB, Troy (formerly Troy State)

    Markus Thomas, TB, Eastern Kentucky

    Billy Thompson, DB, Maryland Eastern Shore

    Lee White, FB, Weber State

    John Zanieski, DL, Yale

    The Sports Network

    Most Watched Videos