LIVE VIDEO: THV 11 This Morning    Watch

    GAC announces winter, spring Sportsmanship awards

    5:56 PM, Jun 5, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +
    Great American Conference Sportsmanship Awards:
    Men’s Basketball Ouachita Baptist
    Women’s Basketball Southwestern Oklahoma State
    Men’s Golf Southeastern Oklahoma State
    Women’s Golf Arkansas Tech
    Men’s Tennis Ouachita Baptist
    Women’s Tennis Henderson State
    Baseball Harding
    Softball Ouachita Baptist

    Google AJAX Search API Sample

    Sports News:

    RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. (GAC) - On Wednesday, the Great American Conference announced the winners of the league's winter and spring sportsmanship awards as the office handed out the honors for men's and women's basketball, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, baseball and softball.

    Ouachita Baptist received three of the sportsmanship awards. The Tigers' GAC Tournament Champions men's basketball team and men's tennis captured the respective awards, as did the Lady Tigers' softball team. Southwestern Oklahoma State claimed the accolade for women's basketball. Henderson State received the honor for women's tennis. The Southeastern Oklahoma State men and Arkansas Tech women earned the distinction for golf and Harding picked up the award for baseball.

    "These awards tie into the NCAA Division II emphasis on sportsmanship and game environment," GAC Commissioner Will Prewitt said. "We are proud of what these winners that have displayed on the field and in ways that aren't necessarily reflected on the scoreboard."

    The Great American Conference's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee initiated a sportsmanship award to be presented for all team sports. The winning school will receive a banner similar to the one presented to GAC tournament championship winners.
    The goal of the program is for member institutions to promote good sportsmanship among its teams, fans, and all involved with the events.

    The winners of the GAC Team Sportsmanship Awards were chosen by league officials and coaches based on a point system.

    Most Watched Videos