Dennis Johnson named to Paul Hornung watch list, voting open for fans

    9:57 AM, Oct 4, 2012   |    comments
    • Courtesy: Athletic Media Relations
    • Dennis Johnson
      Courtesy: Wesley Hitt, Ark.
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Univ. of Ark.) - Fans can vote as often as once a day for the Paul Hornung Award, presented annually to the most versatile player in major college football, it was announced Thursday.

    The results of the fan vote will count as one vote in addition to the votes cast by the 16-member selection committee. Fans can vote for players who were on the preseason watch list and those who have been named to the Weekly Honor Roll throughout the season through Dec. 2.

    Arkansas running back/kick returner Dennis Johnson was named to the Paul Hornung Award Watch List prior to the season. The senior from Texarkana, Ark., is the SEC's record holder for career total return average at 24.0 yards per return, career kickoff return yards with 2,755 and career kickoff returns with 115.

    He also is the conference's active leader in career all-purpose yards with 4,566, the third-highest total among all active players in the NCAA, and in total return yards with 2,755. He has three career kick return touchdowns, which ranks second among active players in the NCAA and tied for fourth on the SEC's all-time career list. On the ground, Johnson is averaging 6.30 yards per carry this season and has not had a rush for negative yardage.

    The Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend Paul Hornung. The winner of the 2012 Paul Hornung Award will be selected in early January following the bowl season.

    To keep up with Johnson and the rest of the Arkansas football postseason awards campaign follow @ARKTD2012 on Twitter.

    Most Watched Videos