Scott Maxfield named as finalist for 2012 Liberty Mutual coach of the year

    10:09 PM, Dec 4, 2012   |    comments
    Scott Maxfield named as finalist for 2012 Liberty Mutual coach of the year
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    BOSTON, Mass. (HSU) - At hundreds of colleges and universities across the country, college football coaches devote fall Saturdays to executing their game strategies in hopes of leading their teams to victory.

    However, in Division II, there are five coaches whose dedication and commitment are felt beyond the field of play, helping to promote academic excellence among their student-athletes and through charitable acts in their communities.

    Today, Liberty Mutual Insurance recognizes Henderson State Head Football Coach Scott Maxfield as one of five D-II finalists for the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, the premier college football-coaching honor that promotes charity and scholarship while also honoring coaches for their sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence, on and off the field.

    The five D-II finalists were determined as a result of fan voting through CoachOfTheYear.com and Twitter from September 12 through December 1, and evaluated through an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame. To qualify for this model, each coach was among the top 15 in fan votes in Division II. Those coaches were then evaluated against a series of on- and off-field criteria; including wins, team penalties, sportsmanship, academic performance by the student-athletes, and charitable commitments in their communities and beyond.

    "We have heard first-hand by Henderson State fans' voting that Coach Scott Maxfield is a clear example of what it means to be a true leader both on the field and in the community," said James MacPhee, senior vice president and Chief Marketing Officer at Liberty Mutual Insurance "We applaud Coach Maxfield's commitment to the values that help shape the players he coaches and sense of service to the community in which he lives and are pleased to celebrate him as one of this year's finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award in Division II."

    Coach Maxfield joins a class of five Division II finalists for the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award including, in alphabetical order: Mark Maciejewski, Shippensburg (Pa.); Bob Nielson, Minnesota Duluth; Peter Rossomando, New Haven (Conn.); and Jed Stugart, Sioux Falls (S.D.).

     Beginning today through December 20, Henderson State fans can log their Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year vote for Coach Scott Maxfield by visiting coachoftheyear.com on their PC, tablet or mobile device and posting a pre-populated tweet. As part of Liberty Mutual's partnership with the National Football Foundation, a selection committee of more than 50 College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches, including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott, Archie Griffin; as well as national college football media, such as Colin Cowherd, Stewart Mandel and Tim Brando, will evaluate the coaches based on their responsibility, integrity and on-field success to help determine the four coaching winners from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II and Division III.

    Winners are ultimately determined using the following voting weight: Fans 20 percent, College Football Hall of Fame 55 percent, and Media 25 percent.

    Show your support - Tweet Your Vote
    Mutual will announce the four winners the morning of the BCS Championship game, January 7, 2013, in South Florida. The Division II coaching winner will receive a $50,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to the charity or charities of his choice, as well as a $20,000 scholarship grant in their name to their school's alumni association.

    Since 2006, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award has celebrated the work of its 21 winners by donating more than $1.5 million to over 90 charities and college alumni scholarship funds. If Coach Scott Maxfield is named 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year for the NCAA Division II, he will join former winners in the Division II, including: Tim Beck, Pittsburg State University (2011); Bob Nielsen, University of Minnesota-Duluth (2010); Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State (2009); Chuck Broyles, Pittsburg State University (2008) and Bill O'Boyle, Chadron State College (2007).

    Henderson State fans can visit coachoftheyear.com, and connect with us on Facebook at Facebook.com/LMCoachoftheYear, Tumblr at LMcoachofyear.tumblr.com or Twitter at @lmcoachofyear.

    Most Watched Videos